Joannie101 > Reviews^_^

The Bourne Ultimatum - 2 years, 1 month ago
Jason Bourne sits in a dusty room in with blood on his hands, trying to make sense of what he's just done. Meanwhile, a CIA chief in NYC outlines the agency's response to what's just happened on screen. An American flag stands proudly on the centre of his desk in the foreground of the shot, but as he speaks, it slips out of focus as his plan veers into morally dubious territory, as if it doesn't want to be associated with the course of action the government man decides is necessary in the interests of national security. This shot effectively captures the mood of the film. As well as portraying Bourne's quest to find out how he became Jason Bourne, Ultimatum is also an examination of the human costs of the measures taken to protect us in the interests of stability and security. It is also probably the best film you'll see in the cinema this year. It's just so intense. Bourne says to Simon Ross (Considine) "This isn't some newspaper story, this is real" and in the audience you almost believe him. The camera shakes, but remains steady enough for you to see everything and feel like you're there with Bourne as he tries to elude his pursuers, and the performances are so good that these guys seem as though they are the characters they're portraying, instead of just being actors performing well-written roles. The action scenes are so brutally fast-paced and well choreographed that they seem instinctive instead of planned to the minutest movement; the stunt-work is nothing short of amazing. The pacing is just incredible. It keeps driving forward towards its conclusion, but not so fast that it leaves you struggling to piece together the plot; the script delivers the information you need as quickly and clearly as possible before moving on to the next tense action set-piece. While they're often simple (the Waterloo sequence is essentially just a man on a phone being watched by a man on a phone) they're charged with such dramatic intensity that you can't take your eyes off them. The film is just so focused on powering forwards that you can't help being swept along by it. With its intense action set-pieces, brilliantly paced storyline, and intelligent examination of the decisions made in the name of national security, the Bourne series is one that accurately captures the ambiguities of our age. Ultimatum is its peak. IMO Best Bourne of the series.
The Bourne Supremacy - 2 years, 1 month ago
The Bourne Supremacy is the sequel to the successful Bourne Identity spy thriller. This movie, directed by a new director, is given a different yet extremely exciting feel to it. The casting is still great, with Matt Damon bringing a deadpan portrayal to the Bourne character. Hes very good in this role, which commits a great success to the whole of the movie. Supporting players Brian Cox and Julia Styles, along with newcomer Joan Allen, all provide stellar support for Bourne. The action is intense and really well done, and the plot is thrilling and will surprise you quite a bit. The camera-work is extremely fast paced, and overall it has a gritty, captivating style. With all of these elements together, you got one great action thriller that in many cases even surpasses Identity! Movies like this are hard to come by, in todays times with many action pictures that just don't work and become tedious. Ill give this near perfect- *** and 1/2 outs 4 Star's- definitely see The Bourne Identity before this- don't fret: you will be very entertained.
Everybody Loves Raymond - 2 years, 1 month ago
Sportswriter Ray Barone (Romano) lives on Long Island with his stay-at-home wife (Patricia Heaton) and their three preschoolers (Madylin, Sullivan, and Sawyer Sweeten) right across the street from his squabbling folks (Peter Boyle and Doris Roberts) and obsessive-compulsive cop brother, Robert (Brad Garrett). At first, this premise lent itself to predictable complications: The elder Barones always barged in unannounced, and Robert was constantly mooching. Yet as the season progressed, Raymond became more about the struggle of a grown man trying to separate from his parents and establish his own family.
The Bourne Identity - 2 years, 1 month ago
The best-selling suspense novel by late author Robert Ludlum comes to the screen for a second time, following a 1988 made-for-TV movie. Matt Damon stars as Jason Bourne, a barely alive amnesiac with a pair of bullet wounds in his back, pulled from the Mediterranean by Italian fishermen. Bourne's only clue to his own identity is a bank account number etched on a capsule implanted in his body. He quickly finds the Zurich bank where money, a gun, and a few identification documents await, but after he's pursued by security goons at the American consulate, Bourne realizes he can trust no one and offers a German gypsy named Marie (Franka Potente) ten thousand dollars for a ride to Paris. Encountering more professional killers bent on his destruction, Bourne discovers that he possesses a surprising degree of skill in combat, martial arts, and linguistics -- handy talents that clearly indicate his past includes work as a spy and assassin, but for whom? With Marie's reluctant help, Bourne edges closer to the truth, something CIA officials want concealed at all costs.
Black Swan - 3 years, 1 month ago
All round brilliance... Its got more twits than a roller coaster made from twisters and its more disturbing than than my creepy gym teach and even better than a machine which dispenses... Cake! Not as good as those sweet similes though... (NOT a chick flick or dance film!) Definitely worth watching 9/10
The Karate Kid - 3 years, 1 month ago
A good remake of the original. Jaden Smith does a great job, with the movie resting heavily on his young shoulders, and Jackie Chan is amazing as usual, as Jaden's mentor and father figure. The supporting cast is a pleasure to watch, and the kids' martial arts skills are awesome. Add to this the beautiful outdoor scenes with breathtaking scenery and the movie becomes visually stunning as well. All in all, an engaging movie that takes it time to build up the characters and story line.
The Expendables - 3 years, 1 month ago
What's with all the haters? This movie should be at least 4 stars across the board. I would have liked to see bruce willis and arnold in bigger roles but you can't win em all. At least this was a true action film. hollywood has been bitchwhipped so hard for so long that this generation has forgotten what makes a movie great. Great action and mot pretty boy actors and homo erotica.
The Rebound - 3 years, 1 month ago
This was such a great film! Storyline was fantastic, acting was superb, and they look like such a cute couple! This movie is really heart warming, knowing that this does happen to people everyday is pretty sad. A wonderful romantic-comedy that I would love to watch again. Recommended 10/10 Enjoy everyone!
Mamma Mia! - 3 years, 1 month ago
Embarrassed how much I enjoyed this. Plot is silly - who cares? None of the actors can really sing , except Amanda Seyfried a bit. Meryl put on a fabulous act though.(When you relisten to real ABBA, makes you realise not only how good the songs are, but also what GREAT voices Agnieta and Frida had). Still, I'm REALLY glad they used the real voices and didn't overdub. It makes me so sad when I watch 'My Fair Lady':they let Audrey record the songs, knowing I think that they weren't going to use them in the final cut. I'm sure she wasn't the greatest singer, but who cares? .. I just wish it was HER singing.
The Sorcerer's Apprentice - 3 years, 1 month ago
Love this, love the story, love the cast, love the effects. Baruchel & Cage work so well together.. both have a similar, dry sense of humour. Have seen this movie quite a few times and it never fails to make me laugh throughout and cry at the end!! It should've had more rep than it did, but well worth the watch! 7/10
Jackass 3-D - 3 years, 1 month ago
Great movie for bad ass teens who like to be wild,not for everybody though (do not show you grandparents). At times i was rolling around laughing at others I was nearly puking at some of the stuff they were doing,not for the faint hearted. not as much stunts as the others and has more dare devil stuff in it. Overall I give this movie a 9/10 for bing funny as hell and sick as hell.
Little Fockers - 3 years, 1 month ago
Hilarious and sweet !! Those who saw the two previous movies must watch this 1 !! Much better than the second in my opinion although nothing ever can be compared to the first movie of these trilogy !! Awesome movies and as always great time spending some laughs :$ Both main actors did a real great job :) 8/10
The Social Network - 3 years, 1 month ago
This movie is just another cover up masking facebook's true story which is nothing more than a way to spy on people and know their every move, those rumors started spreading so this movie was made to cover them up. I don't believe the events of the movie at all to be true, c'mon a couple of street trash boys in harvard made a website that magically attracted millions ? Anyway, the movie itself will entertain you if you're interested in knowing the story behind facebook that everyone's supposed to know. But I personally don't believe that it's a true story.
Twilight: New Moon - 3 years, 1 month ago
This movie was much better than the first one, the first was a bit boring and slow, the second one had a lot more action. Although you can tell judging by the way the story comes along that the writer is an amateur, the plot is kind of lame and obvious, and most of the time the character's decisions don't make common sense (although of course a vampire etc can't beed deemed to follow common sense of course). Still, better movie and I give it 7/10/
The Last Airbender - 3 years, 1 month ago
What a let down to the fans like myself, this movie was such a fail, it didn't even came close to the cartoon, it was boring, rushed the acting was the worse ive ever seen and WTF they didnt even pronounce Aang's name right did any of them even watched the cartoon my god that was so annoying but the only good thing that came out of this movie was that it was so bad we're not gonna get another thank god for that. 4/10
Rango - 3 years, 1 month ago
The animation was incredible & atypical, & the overall attitude & voices really stuck to the western style. Loved the references, but would not recommend for children 13 & under, unless you are like me & would not hide your child from certain vocabulary or subjects. Slow start & more awkward-funny, but great ending. I wish Jake the Snake would have been used more & I believe a lot of people only liked the film because JD was in it, but, if you have patience, I suggest watching. 7/10
Life as We Know It - 3 years, 1 month ago
Another romantic "comedy" that's not really a comedy. It wasn't really that funny. It was a great movie. I enjoyed it for what it was..a romantic drama. There were some funny scenes but not enough to call it a comedy. The poster is wayyyyyy off. This movie is so much better than what that poster portrays. Give it a chance. You will be pleasantly surprised. 8.5/10
Faster - 3 years, 1 month ago
Thought it was pretty good. The plot could have been beefed up some more, but wait to see what happens to his targets and figuring out who was the mastermind of it keep things interesting. Plus the Rock was back to doing action, Carla Gugino was hot as always, and the two of them along with Billy Bob Thornton had good character to watch.
Despicable Me - 3 years, 1 month ago
Enjoyable for the whole family. Totally funny but also a tear-jearker. Great characters and exciting plot... never a dull moment. The Music is also great (PHarell did an awesome job!) Me and my husband have watched it 3 times and we don't even have kids. It just gives us that great "feel good" feeling you get after watching a great movie. Definitely recommend it to all!
Priest - 3 years, 1 month ago
A spectacular and exhilarating action-packed thrill-machine. It roars across the screen with fearless velocity. A spellbinding original, it has a great story, cool visual style, in depth leading characters and a vibe that's all it's own. A wickedly awesome and tremendously entertaining movie. One of the most unique, compelling and original sci-fi action films in recent years. It's The Blade Runner meets Mad Max with vampires and it rocks. An unforgettable and adrenaline-fueled ride that's too much fun to resist. It delivers plenty of unstoppable action, amazing special effects and some great performances. A heart-pounding, bone-chilling, mind-dazzling and ultra-thrilling new classic. Paul Bettany gives a strong and magnetic performance. Maggie Q is terrific. Karl Urban is just electric. Director, Scott Stewart strikes gold with a well-crafted and brilliant new film. 9/10
Hall Pass - 3 years, 1 month ago
As comedies go, this was one to watch. Had me laughing out loud 3 times, which is 1 above my average! Not normally into Owen Wilson as his voice and acting is too samey for me, but the film held its own. But I was expecting more, it had its moments though. 7/10
Source Code - 3 years, 1 month ago
Very original movie, good acting as well, good story line and I liked directing also. Overall, just one thing to think about after this movie - where the real teacher person disappeared after captain took place in his body? That's the only question movie doesn't give answer to. But it's really good movie, if u watch it, then pay 100% attention, otherwise you just will lose your precious time ;) Overall rating: 9/10
Your Highness - 3 years, 1 month ago
This movie wasn't what I thought it was from the previews I saw before it came to theaters. I thought Natalie would be apart of more of the story. It had some hilarious parts, but the movie started to drag in between the really funny parts. I agree with other users if you were stoned this would be hilarious! I feel bad for Natalie because she had to kiss such an unattractive man, but it's all apart of acting. 7/10
Salt - 3 years, 1 month ago
Not being a big Angelina fan, I was expecting a mediocre flick. I was wrong! Great storyline, excellent plot twists and very decent action sequences and even though Jolie doesn't have much acting range she pulls off her character very well. Don't skip any parts or else you might get really confused. A sequel is supposedly in the works.
Red Riding Hood - 3 years, 1 month ago
Thought it was pretty good and kept my attention until the end. I totally didn't see coming who the werewolf really was and I liked that about the movie. Although there was only one thing that I thought was kind of stupid. If werewolves really could not cross holy ground why not just find out who never attended church and that would be the werewolf. Unless when they are human they can go into a church. After all a werewolf is not like a vampire that are vampires at all times. Well I enjoyed it and will definite watch again sometime.
TRON Legacy - 3 years, 1 month ago
would have given this thing a lot of applause. not now. i see that this movie had a great potential, but a lot of technological flaws which i think is too overwhelming. (how does one get into a cyber-world thing with a bunch of old school technology?, i mean i have seen how the iron man thing is, but this one's way beyond that kind of technology level, i was looking a a very good explanation how he can be assimilated to a cyber-world by means of cam looking thing, which you probably imagine one like a surveillance camera ) The whole experience in the cyberworld is thus, far considerable, but at the end, i still try to convince myself this is a great movie, still it isn't. 6/10
Love and Other Drugs - 3 years, 1 month ago
A nice quirky film, laughing, love, and drama definately meeting the genres set for this film. It's moving in a weird strange way. I'd watch this again and again and again. A watch for not only the guys ;) but nice for the girls also. A good mix of qualities to suit everyone!
World Invasion Battle Los Angeles - 3 years, 1 month ago
Not sure how this movie got the ratings it did. It was a solid, action packed, drama. Had great special effects, and the acting all around was very well done. Great cast. Felt so real. And who doesn't like a good army vs alien bug movie?! I'll definitely watch this one again! 8/10. One of the better war movies I've seen in a long time.
Bridesmaids - 3 years, 1 month ago
I thought it would be a lot funnier. The first fifteen minutes had me laughing but the rest of the movie quickly slid into a comedy muddled with the maid of honors difficulties in romance and life transitions. Yes she was a bridesmaid but the whole of the movie could have had the title - Friends still need you after they get married but I guess Bridesmaids was catchier :P. There are a lot funnier things that go on within bridesmaids warfare that could have been tackled in this movie. Enjoyable- yes, but recommended, eh.
Due Date - 3 years, 1 month ago
Much better than I expected, although everybody was talking about it. Maybe I found the movie INCREDIBLE because I had low expectations. This movie was hilarious and I liked it more than the hangover. Maybe you need to get used to Zach. The interactions between the main characters were so funny and well put together. You really need to see this and you won't be dissapointed! (9/10)
The Change Up - 3 years, 1 month ago
Few good laughs,t his movie was very well done and very funny. There's been a few comedies out this year some that we couldn't wait to see just to find out that they actually sucked and the only funny parts were already previewed, but this one was worth the wait in-which we didn't have to wait long with a big thanks to the submitter and it is a great to see movie,i might go as far as to say its even worth a second watch// 5/5
Laws of Attraction - 3 years, 1 month ago
This movie was so cute! Two great performances from two very talented actors. This was Julianne's first romantic comedy and I think she did great. Both got into character which was great. This movie is fresh, original, and emotional all at the same time. Recommended to anyone who likes romantic-comedys. Definitely worth watching. 9/10 stars.
The Last House on the Left - 3 years, 1 month ago
This was a really good movie, great storyline, perfect acting, totally unpredictable, unique and original. The movie was twisted and gory, which we like to see I suppose. Definitely worth watching, I recommend 14+ because some parts of the movie are a bit inappropriate. 9/10 stars for this movie, you will enjoy it.
Scream 4 - 3 years, 1 month ago
Great movie. I didn't really find it scary though (maybe repeated viewings of the earlier movies kinda desensitized me, lol) I was more in a "whodunit" frame of mind. Hope they can added another without making things too ridiculous -- the one girls' fate (don't wanna say who for fear of spoiling it for others :) ) was never concretely sealed IMO.
Inception - 3 years, 1 month ago
A very entertaining film. It keeps you enthralled from start to finish, which you kind of don't have a choice if you want to keep up with what's going on. A pretty good concept and something different was refreshing from the usual Hollywood recycled crap. I've heard people talk of this film and how you need to watch it a 2nd time to fully understand it, but did't find that to be the case. Just a good complex story that kept moving and held your interest.
Gnomeo & Juliet - 3 years, 1 month ago
I thought it was pretty cute. The flamingo was by far the best part! I was literally bawling when he told the story of his lost flamingo love :( After this movie, I told my boyfriend that when we have a backyard, we are planting flamingos in it to make a little heart shape! One for me, one for him. Cute movie and Emily Blunt is an amazing actress - she is appearing everywhere!
Avatar - 3 years, 1 month ago
Unreal how many people didn't like this film. Oh well, all I can say its one of my favourites. Unusual that Humans are the dominating force when it comen to these types of films but really the message is to stop killing our planet. Nature is interlocked just like the planet in this film and humans are willing to kill the heart of a planet, any planet I would assume just to gain wealth, without any consideration of the consequences. 10/10 purely for the message portrayed (if you have an open-mind).
Mr Popper's Penguins - 3 years, 1 month ago
A genuine movie with a nice message about the importance of family . Good acting, decent storyline. Carrey as Mr. Popper provided some welcomed comedic relief in an otherwise sweet and simple story . A heartwarming family movie not to be missed. For younger kids and animal lovers, I gave this 4/5 stars.
Final Destination 5 - 3 years, 1 month ago
Final Destination 5, lives up to its name! Although not any of the Final Destination movies are really final, this one seems to kind of bring the whole thing full circle. A group of friends survive a bridge collapse, and then in horror movie fashion, strange accidents seems to be picking them off one by one. The cast is great and even though this link is in another language, the thrills, excitement and killings translate perfectly for all to understand and enjoy. Tony Todd is an icon in this genre and his presence gives this film a horror stamp of approval. FD6 anyone?
Captain America - The First Avenger - 3 years, 1 month ago
This was a pretty good movie I really enjoyed it. It was just a few things I didn't like. I didn't like the times they only showed a glimpse/few seconds of some of the action scenes. A lot of them looked epic...but maybe they did that because they wasted a lot of UN-needed time showing how they were using him as a puppet to raise money for the military and war. The time they used for that could have been used for more action but like I said I really enjoyed the movie, and by me being a comic fan...I wasn't disappointed to much on how they did the storyline. I'd definitely watch this movie again sometime soon! Good job marvel! All I'm going to say to the people who haven't seen it yet...just like every other marvel movie stick it out till then end of the credits =)

Join the site, its free!



Remember Me
Forgot Login | Sign Up

I can't watch movies! Help!

LetMeWatchThis Guide

Site Updates and News

Support the Site

Latest Comments

Vice Guide to Travel

ChrisR132 : I can't get this to work guys anymore links? sorry if I can't ask this please ju ...

The Lottery

waderex : That had the feeling of a show ending ep rather than a series to be continued ne ...

Z Nation

mcgreezy : Saw Asylum and almost turned it off. Got a lot of B actors in it. Link from the ...

Diana

maysbowie : I loved her character Princess Diana , she was so lovable person , elegant and p ...

Strictly Come Dancing

Matty_castaway : these are all show 2, not show 1

Bering Sea Gold Under the Ice

arcainmech : if these idiots would weld a cage over the nozzel it would keep the rocks out

Bela Kiss Prologue

gangofone : Such a beautiful film ruined by a bad recording. Comone guys if you bother to r ...

Oculus

roxannaaries : This was pretty good story, a tragic one, good plot and acting, I just feel that ...

Gracepoint

Lollipopfop : Thank you, thank you, everyone!!

More Comments

Free Movie Newsletter

Tell Us Stuff

Support the Site